Home / Alumni / Jayewardenepura Pradeepa” – Awards Ceremony of the Alumni Association of USJP


This post is also available in: Sinhala

Jayewardenena pradeepa alumni award winners

The “Jayewardenepura Pradeepa” inaugural Awards Ceremony organized by the Alumni Association of the university was held in much grandeur on the 8th August 2016 at the Waters Edge. The event graced by both President Maithripala Sirisena and the Chancellor of the University, Ven. Dr. Bellanwila Wimalarathana Thero, recognized 47 high standing officers serving the government sector of the country. Among those celebrated and appreciated were three Ven. Priests, Secretaries to Ministries, Key Government officers such as Auditor General, Commissioner of Examinations, Chairman’s and Director Generals of Government Institutions.

This event was indeed a joyful reminisce of the trials, turbulence, highs and lows that Jayewardenepura as a University have undergone, and it most certainly was an occasion to celebrate the fruits of the struggles of its founders. It was evening wherein the University motto came into life proving that “among all that rise knowledge is indeed the greatest – vijja uppatatam settha”

Award Winners – Government Officers:

Ven. Egodamulla Amaramoli Thero
Puravidya Chakravarti Ven. Ellawala Medhananda Thero
Ven. Galboda Gnanissara Thero
Mrs. Chithrangani Wagiswara – Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Mrs. Chandrani Senarathne – Secretary, Ministry of Women and Children’s Affairs
W. Sudharma Karunarathne – Ministry of Petroleum Resources Development
Dr. B.M.S. Batagoda – Ministry of Power and Renewable Energy
G. Sena Withanage – Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Employment
D. Swarnapala – Secretary, Ministry of Internal Affairs, Wayamba Development and Cultural Affairs
W.K.K. Athukorala – Secretary, Ministry of Housing and Construction
Duglus Nanayakkara – Secretary, Ministry of Special Assignments
D.K. Renuka Ekanayake – Secretary, Ministry of Rural Economic Affairs
B. Wijayarathne – Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
D.C. Dissanayake – Secretary, Ministry of Higher Education and Highways
Dr. D.M.R.B. Dissanayake – Secretary, Ministry of Sports
Perl Weerasinghe – Secretary, State Ministry of City Planning and Water Supply
Sandya Wijaya Bandara – Secretary, State Ministry of Industries and Commerce
Sunil Abeywardhene – Secretary, State Ministry of Labour
Chandraprema Gamage – Secretary, State Ministry of Lands
H.M. Gamini Wijesinghe – Auditor General, Auditor General’s Department
Prof. Sampath Amarathunga – Vice-Chancellor of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura
Pujith Jayasundara – Inspector General of Police
W.A. Chulananda Perera – Director General of Sri Lanka customs
Kalyani Dahanayake – Commissioner General, Inland Revenue Department
Nihal Ranasinghe – Controller General of Immigration and Emigration
R.M.S. Sarath Kumara – Commissioner General, Department of Registration of Persons
Chandra Wickramasinghe – Director General, Divi Neguma Development Department
L.K.G. Gunawardhane – Commissioner General of Excise
W.M.N.J. Pushpakumara – Commissioner General, Department of Examinations
Pushpa D.D.S. Muthukumarana – Chief Valuer, Department of Valuation
K.V.P.M.J. Gamage – Director General, Ministry of Public Administration
N. Nimalka Dias – Controller General, Department of Import and Export Control
Rathna Deshapriya – Deputy Secretary of Treasury, Ministry of Finance
Chandrarathne Pallegama – Director General, Department of Civil Security Department
Prof. M. Thilakasiri – Director General, Sri Lanka Institute of Development Administration
Thilaka Jayasundara – Director General, National Productivity Secretariat
J.A. Ranjith – Director General, Department of Technical Education and Training
B.K. Prabhath Chandrakeerthi – Director General, Department of Coast Conservation & Coastal Resource Management
D.M. Anula Harasgama – Director General, Department of State Accounts, Ministry of Finance
S.A. Chandrika Kulathilake – Director General, Department of Management Audit
Lumbini Darshana Senanayake – Director General, Department of Project Management and Monitoring, Central Bank Sri Lanka
A.M.P.M.B. Atapattu – Director General, Department of Development Finance
P.G. Kumarasinghe Sirisena – Chairman and Director General, Sri Lanka Telecom
Anura Dissanayake – Director General, Mahaweli Authority Sri Lanka
Prof. M. Sunil Shantha – Director General, Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation
K. Muthukuda Arachchi – Director General, Central Environmental Authority
Dr. E. A. Weerasinghe- Director General, Department of Business Economics

Address by President Maithripala Sirisena

Speech by Prof Sunil Ariyaratne – Brief History of University of Sri Jayewardenepura

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...