Congratulations Japura Badminton players

The University of Moratuwa International Shuttlers’ Fest 2016 (UMiSF) is an annual event organized by the badminton team of the University of Moratuwa in collaboration with the university’s division of physical education. This event is structured with the intention of developing shuttling skills among undergraduates and school children.

This event has gotten bigger and better during the years and this year’s registrations hit a mark over 1000 with players gathering from around the country marking UMiSF held from the 6th – 16th May 2016, the biggest badminton tournament organized by a university in Sri Lanka.

Badminton teams of Japura also took part in this mega tournament, competing with the best of the best of Sri Lanka and succeeded in bringing home these following achievements,

The University Girls Team Championship, which was played against University of Kelaniya. The winning team comprised of Nayomi Karunarathne (C), Kumudi Gayanjalee (VC), Thisarani Siriwardhana, Buddhima Rathnayake, Nishadi Dilhara, Kavidhi Ishadika, Roshni Fernando and Hansini Senarathne. Team Japura also bagged the University Girls Single Championship playing against University of Colombo, wherein Roshni Fernando was adjudged the Best Player. University Girls Doubles Championship played by Thisarani Siriwardhana and Nishadi Dilhara was also a well deserved win played against the able team of University of Kelaniya. Chinthaka Manimelwadu and Nishadi Dilhara succeeded in securing the championship of the University Mixed Doubles Championship playing against team KDU while Hevindu Wickramasinghe and Chinthaka Manimelwadu emerged First Runners Up at the Open Men’s Doubles.

All these championships and awards were indeed the fruition of their hard work, long hours of practice and team work, therefore CONGRATULATIONS team and Thank you! Your achievement is indeed a reason for all of us at Japura to be proud.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Recent Posts