Congratulations Dr Imalka Munaweera For Winning The 2023 TWAS-Atta-Ur-Rahman Award In Chemistry

The World Academy of Sciences Council has announced the winners of four of its prestigious awards (2023 TWAS-Abdool Karim Award, 2023 TWAS-Atta-ur-Rahman Award, 2023 TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Award, and 2024 TWAS-Siwei Cheng Award in Economic Sciences) for enterprising and accomplished scientists living and working in the global South.

All four winners are women. Also, two of the winners are from the Least Developed Countries, Burkina Faso and Malawi. The other two are from Sri Lanka and China.The awards provide a powerful incentive for developing world scientists to excel on new
levels while bringing much-deserved global recognition to their achievements and inspiring others to follow in their footsteps.

Dr. Imalka Munaweera, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Applied Sciences received 2023 TWAS-Atta-ur-Rahman Award in Chemistry, for her contributions to the development of engineered inorganic nanostructures and nanofiber composites that may have multidisciplinary applications.

Read more:

Category Posts