University of Sri Jayewardenepura Alumni Association Elects New Office Bearers for 2023-2028

The Annual General Meeting of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura Alumni Association held on September 2, 2023, at the Sri Lanka Foundation Institute’s 3rd Committee Hall was a momentous occasion. Distinguished guests, including Honorable Minister Dr. Bandula Gunawardane and UGC Chairman Prof. Sampath Amarathunga, graced the event.

The gathering also saw the presence of esteemed past office bearers, including Past President W.K.H. Wegapitiya, Past Secretary Prof. Aberathna Bandara, Past Treasurer Prof. R.M.K. Rathnayake, and Past National Organizer Mr. Ranjith Iddamalgoda. The Japura Student Union President, Nisala Damith, also attended, highlighting the strong connection between the alumni and current students.

The highlight of the event was the election of new office bearers for the term 2023-2028. This marks a pivotal moment for the Alumni Association as it continues its mission to foster a sense of community among graduates and support the university’s growth and development.

This event served as a platform for alumni to reconnect, reminisce about their university days, and discuss future initiatives. The newly elected leaders are expected to lead with dedication and enthusiasm, propelling the Alumni Association to new heights over the next five years.

The Alumni Association plays a crucial role in bridging the gap between past and present students, fostering a spirit of unity and collaboration, and supporting the university’s progress. With the newly elected leadership, the future looks bright for the Alumni Association and the entire Sri Jayewardenepura University community.


Mr.Gamini Silva

General Secretary

Mr.Sajeewa Medawaththa(Senior Deputy Inspector General )

Vice Presidents 

Dr.Ravi Liyanage

Mr.Siri Ranasingha

Mr.Piyadasa Marambage

Mr.Bandara Dissanayake

Prof.Hiran Amarasekara

Dr.Sunil Jayantha Nawarathna

Mr.Suresh Hemantha


Mr.Sujeewa Herath

Mrs.Wasanthi Ranasinghe

Senior Treasure 

Senior Prof.Pradeep Jayaweera

Assistant Treasures 

Mr.Oshadee Withanawasam

Mr.Upul De Silva

Internal Auditor 

Mr.Prasad Samantha

National Organizer 

Mr.Piyal Pathmanatha

Patrons/Advisory Board 

Chancellor of the University

Vice Chancellor of the University

Hon.Member of Parliament Mr.S.B Disssnayake

Hon.Minister Dr.Bandula Gunawardane

Senior Prof.Sunil Ariyarathna

Senior Prof.Sampath Amarathunga

Deans of the faculties of the University

Mr.W.K.M Wegapitiya

Mr.Ranjith Iddamalgoda

Prof.Aberathna Bandara

Prof.R.M.K Rathnayake

Category Posts