15th International Conference on Business Management (ICBM)

15th International Conference on Business Management (ICBM) 2018 was held on 6th December 2018 at Galadari Hotel, Colombo which was organized by the Faculty of Management Studies and Commerce (FMSC), University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Sri Lanka.

The theme of the 15th ICBM 2018 was “Sustainability through Going Green: Opportunities and Challenges for Business”. Dr. Indrajith Coomaraswami, Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka joined as the Chief Guest of the conference while Snr. Prof. Sampath Amaratunge participated as the Guest of Honour. Associate Professor Colin Higgins – Deakin Business School, Melbourne, Australia, and Professor Mark Christensen  – ESSEC Business School, Singapore Campus, Singapore were the Keynote speakers at the conference. The plenary speech was done by Dr Luckmika Perera – Deakin Business School, Australia. Dean of the Faculty of Management Studies and Commerce Dr U. Anura Kumara also addressed the audience at this event. The conference was enriched with an inauguration ceremony, thought provoking research sessions under seven tracks that followed by the Business Forum.

The Doctoral Consortium was held on 5th December 2018 at the Faculty of Management Studies and Commerce, University of Sri Jayewardenepura. Keynote speakers of this event were Prof. Alexander Newmen – Faculty of Business and Law, Deakin University, Australia; Prof. Giuseppe Grossi – Nord University, Norway and Associate Prof. Chamara Kuruppu, University of South-Eastern Norway. The Research Conference and the Business Forum has brought together participants from diverse research fields and the corporate world to share their knowledge and experiences. An eminent panel discussed issues surrounding the topic of “Sri Lankan Economy: The way forward-achieving sustainability, with special emphasis on Chinese – Indian and domestic business perspectives” at its Business Forum.

The business forum panelists were Snr. Prof. Sampath Amaratunge, Vice Chancellor, University of Sri Jayewardenepura; Mr. Liang Thow Ming – Chief Sales and Marketing Officer of Port City; Mr. Sanjay Tiwari – Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer of Piramal Class Ceylon PLC; Mr. A. R. Pandithage, Managing Director, DIMO Engineering Company PLC; Mr Rohan Pallewatta – Executive Chairman of Lanka Harness Co. (Pvt) Ltd; Mr. Thilan Wijesinghe – Chairman National Agency for Private Public Partnership Ministry of Finance. Mr Nisthar Cassim the Editor and Chief Executive of the Daily FT moderated this year’s Business Forum.

Category Posts