Science Faculty Back to Campus Event Brings Alumni Together in Celebration

This past weekend (8 June 2024), the Science Alumni Association of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura hosted its highly anticipated Back to Campus event. With over 500 Science alumni in attendance, the day was filled with nostalgia, cherished memories, and a wonderful reuniting of the university community.

The event kicked off with university and faculty videos showcasing the proud history and accomplishments. This was followed by the stirring university anthem that filled attendees with Japura pride. After a welcome address by Association President Mr. Mahinda Ranasinghe, a memory recall video transported alumni back to their university days.

The Dean of the Faculty of Applied Sciences and Acting Vice Chancellor, Prof. Upul Subasinghe, delivered an address highlighting the university’s recent achievement of being ranked No. 2 in Sri Lanka according to the QS World Rankings. He credited the valuable contributions of researchers from the Science Faculty but also emphasized the need for funding for student scholarships, academic development, and research activities, especially during the current economic crisis period.

A particular highlight was the felicitation ceremony honoring over 25 retired professors and academics from various science departments. Esteemed former faculty members were celebrated for their invaluable contributions to education and research over the years.

The festivities continued with entertaining song and dance performances by talented alumni and current students. Renowned alumni like Professor Ajith Abeysekera, Mr. Janaka Sampath, and Ms.Theekshana Anuradha entertained the crowd with their performances.

Prof. Hiran Amarasekera, Vice President of the Alumni Association, and Prof. Sudantha Liyanage, former Dean and Vice Chancellor, also shared their cherished faculty memories with the audience.

The event was expertly compered by Dr. Arundathi Koliyabandara, a former alumni and now a senior lecturer at the Faculty of Technology.

But most of all, it was the connections rekindled between old friends and batchmates that made the day so special. Alumni wandered through memory lane, swapping stories of their university escapades and catching up on life after graduation. The nostalgia was palpable during the memory recall discussion session. Alumni also had the chance to purchase university memorabilia like the official alumni mug and university tie as mementos of the day.

The event was made possible by the generous support of sponsors, whose videos were featured throughout the program. Mr. Lasantha Perera, Secretary of the Alumni Association, delivered the vote of thanks. As the day drew to a close with a heartwarming singalong of beloved classics and a final group photo, there was no doubt that the Back to Campus event had been an overwhelming success in bringing the Japura Science alumni community together once again.

The celebrations continued at the Fingara Town and Country Club, where Prof. Sampath Amaratunge, Chairman of the UGC, along with main alumni officials and our main alumni, Alumni Association of University of Sri Jayewardenepura, gathered for a fellowship event after the on-campus festivities.

List of Retired Professors and Academics Felicitated at the Back to Campus Event
Department of Botany

Prof. H.G. Nandadasa
Prof. Chandrani Wijeyaratne
Prof. P. Fernando
Prof. N. Salim
Prof. Nelum Deshappriya

Department of Chemistry

Prof. A. Abeysekera
Prof. W. Jayatilake
Prof. S. P. Deraniyagala
Prof. S. Samarasinghe
Prof. Tuley De Silva

Department of Computer Science

Ms. G.S. Makalanda

Department of Food Science

Prof. A. Bamunuarachchi
Prof. S.B. Navaratne

Department of Forestry & Environment Science

Prof. B.M.P. Sinhakumara

Department of Mathematics

Ms. T.P. De Silva
Prof. P.W. Epasinghe
Mr. M.K.N. Siriwardena
Prof. S. Weerakoon

Department of Physics

Prof. D.A. Tantrigoda
Prof. C.P. Abeyratne
Dr. A. Wijeratne

Department of Statistics

Prof. R.A. Dayananda

Department of Zoology

Prof. S. Piyasiri
Dr. Swineetha Karunaratne
Prof. Manel Attygalle
Prof. A. de Alwis
Prof. J. Jinadasa

For More Photos: Japura Media

Category Posts