USJ Signs an MOU with DAISY Lanka Foundation to Establish an Online Library for Print-Impaired Persons


The Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura has continuously been striving to promote the view that learning and education should be accessible to all regardless of individual differences. Ven. Weliwitiye Sri Soratha Thero, the trailblazer of the contemporary Pirivena University system and the founder of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura, is known to have laid the foundation for making the Audio Book project of the university. In 2016, Ven. Prof. Medagoda Abhayathissa Thero re-initiated the project at the faculty with his personal funding. In 2019, the Equal Opportunity Cell (EOC) was established by Prof. Shirantha Heenkenda, Dean/ FHSS to continue the Audio-Book project with the patronage of the university. Understanding the need to carry forward the noble initiatives put forth by our founding fathers, the university signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) on 09th August, 2022 with DAISY (Digital Accessible Information System) Lanka Foundation to establish an accessible and reliable online library platform for the people with print impairments. The occasion also signified the prominent role of the university and the faculty in fulfilling a social responsibility.

The DAISY Lanka Foundation is an organization with a mission to achieve full economic, educational, cultural, vocational and social inclusion and to integrate people with print disabilities by the provision of information in alternative accessible formats. By entering into a partnership with the DAISY Lanka Foundation, this online library will be facilitated with a digital format enabling print-impaired persons to access information.

Representing the University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Senior Professor Sudantha Liyanage signed the MOU, with the DAISY Lanka Foundation represented by its Chairman Mr. Ashoka Weerawardhane. Prof. Shirantha Heenkenda, Dean/ FHSS, Ven. Nelliwala Meththananda Thero, Prof. Kusumalatha Lankamullage, Dr. Shantha Gamlath, Dr. Thanuja Silva, Dr. Nelum Kanthilatha, Mrs. Samantha Geeganage, DR/ FHSS, Mrs. Dhammika Galkaduwa, DB/ FHSS, Ms. Lakmini Wasana, Mr. Kasun Nayanajith and Mrs. Sathya Nirmani also participated at this event.

Category Posts