Two MOUs between USJP and National Sun Yat-Sen University

The University of Sri Jayewardenepura (USJP) in collaboration with the National Sun Yat-sen University (NSYU) signed two Memorandums of Understanding (MoUs) on the 14th of March 2018 at the Board room of the Administration building of the University amidst a delegation from the National Sun Yat-sen University, academics of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura and invitees from the Public University system of Sri Lanka. The Collaboration was organized by the World-class University Project of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura.

National Sun Yat- Sen University, after first visiting the University of Sri Jayewardenepura in December 2017 to discuss collaborative post-graduate opportunities with our own University of Sri Jayewardenepura returned once again to officially sign two MoUs focusing on academic cooperation and exchanges.

The first of the MoUs was signed between the University of Sri Jayewardenepura and the National Sun Yat-sen University. A second was signed between the Interdisciplinary Centre for Innovation and Biotechnology and Neuroscience, Genetic Diagnostic and Research Laboratory and Human Brain Tissue and DNA Repository, Department of Anatomy, Faculty of Medical Sciences of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura and the Laboratory for Professor Yu-Chung Chiang, Department of Biological Sciences of the National Sun Yat-sen University.

Accordingly the MoUs will provide the universities the mutual benefit of exchanging scholars and researchers, research development and exchanging of studies.

The Vice Chancellor of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Professor Sampath Amaratunge stated that both Thaiwan and Sri Lanka are located amidst a region that will soon be the number one economy in the world.

“Though I am an economist, I am aware that the path towards development depends on the advancement of Science and technology. Thereby we as economies in the same region must work together to facilitate the economies of our respective nations and the world,” he said.

The National Sun Yat-sen University ranked among the top 150 Universities in the world. The University consists of six colleges: Liberal Arts, Management, Social Sciences, Science, Engineering and Marine Sciences. The University has 21 Undergraduate programmes, 39 Master Programmes and 27 Doctoral programmes.

Professor Hsien-Hua Lee, Dean Collage of Marine Sciences stated that both Sri Lanka and Thaiwan are similar in many aspects and therefore such collaboration as this is much overdue.

The National Sun Yat-sen University presently is in collaboration with over 160 top universities across 36 countries. As the interactive secession proceeded Prof. Sampath Amaratunge expressed the University’s intention of expanding into the field of Marine Sciences.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...