USJ Alumni Dr. P. A. Kiriwandeniya Appointed as the Chancellor of Wayamba University, Sri Lanka

Dr. P. A. Kiriwandeniya, an esteemed alumnus of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura (USJ) and the founder of the Sanasa Movement, has been appointed as the Chancellor of Wayamba University in Sri Lanka. Dr. Kiriwandeniya graduated from USJ in 1965 and later received a Doctorate from the University of Ruhuna for his significant contributions to the cooperative movement in Sri Lanka.

Dr. Kiriwandeniya’s distinguished career includes serving as the Director of Education at Sarvodaya Movement, the Chairman of the Asian Confederation of Credit Unions (ACCU), Vice Chair of the Asia & Oceania Association (AOA) of the International Cooperative & Mutual Insurance Federation (ICMIF), and the Director of People’s Bank and Regional Development Bank. Moreover, he has held key positions as the President of the National Institute of Cooperative Management and the President of the National Cooperative Council of Sri Lanka. The appointment of Dr. Kiriwandeniya as Chancellor is a testament to his outstanding leadership and dedication to advancing education and societal development. Throughout his illustrious career, he has received prestigious accolades, including the Vishwaprasadani Presidential Award in 1996, one of Sri Lanka’s highest and most esteemed national honors.

In addition to Dr. P.A. Kiriwandeniya, there are several other USJ alumni holding esteemed positions as Chancellors at different universities in Sri Lanka. Notably, Professor Sunil Ariyaratne, a senior professor of Sinhala, has been appointed as the Chancellor of the University of Visual and Performing Arts, while Professor Dhammika Tantrigoda, a professor in physics, serves as the present Chancellor of the Open University of Sri Lanka.

This appointment celebrates the accomplishments of Dr. Kiriwandeniya and the contributions of all USJ alumni to the academic landscape and beyond, enriching Sri Lanka’s educational and cooperative sectors.

Category Posts